Convocatoria: Premio del Association for Queer Anthropology para investigaciones de grado o posgrado (en inglés)

The Kenneth W. Payne Prize for outstanding anthropological scholarship
by a student on a lesbian, gay, bisexual, or trans*  topic

Call for submissions
Deadline for submission: June 1, 2017

The Kenneth W. Payne Student Prize is presented each year by the
Association for Queer Anthropology (AQA) to a graduate or
undergraduate student in acknowledgment of outstanding anthropological
work on 1) a lesbian, gay, bisexual or trans* topic, or 2) a critical
interrogation of sexualities and genders more broadly defined. The
Prize includes a cash award in the amount of $500. Submissions are
encouraged from graduate or undergraduate students in any of the four
fields of anthropology. To be eligible for consideration, work should
have been completed since June 2016 and while the applicant was still
enrolled as a student. Research papers as well as visual media (e.g.
documentary film) are eligible for submission for this competition.
Papers should be no longer than 40 pages, double-spaced, and typed in
11 or 12 point font; published papers or works accepted for
publication will not be accepted for review. Visual media should run
no longer than 60 minutes; media projects already under contract for
commercial distribution will not be accepted for review.

THE DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS IS JUNE 1, 2017. Submit an electronic
copy of the print submission as a Word (*.doc) or RTF (rich text
format or *.rtf) attachment to on or before the
indicated deadline. Visual media projects should be available for
download from an accessible website; send an email to identifying the visual media project and
indicating its accessibility. In either case, include with your email
message a statement showing your intent to enter the 2017 Kenneth W.
Payne Prize competition, and a 100-200 word abstract. Include your
name, address, department and university, telephone number, and email
address in the body of the email; in addition, indicate the stage of
your graduate or undergraduate work at the time the submission was
developed. You  will receive  a confirmation email that your
submission  has been received within a week of its receipt. Please
only send duplicate copies or emails if you have not received a
response after two weeks.

The committee intends to organize a roundtable from outstanding Payne
Prize submissions at the 2017 annual meetings of the American
Anthropological Association. Submissions will be judged according to
the following criteria: use of relevant L/G/B/T/Q and/or feminist
anthropological theory and literature, potential for contribution to
and advancement of L/G/B/T/Q studies and our understanding of
sexualities worldwide, attention to difference (such as gender, class,
race, ethnicity, nation), originality, organization and coherence, and
timeliness. The award will be presented to the winner at the AQA
Business meeting during the annual meetings of the American
Anthropological Association (Washington, DC) November 29 – December 3,

Members of the 2017 Payne Prize Committee: Brooke Bocast (University
of the Witswatersrand), Michael Connors Jackman (Memorial University
of Newfoundland), Tayo Jolaosho (University of South Florida – 2017
Payne Prize Committee chair), Richard J. Martin (Harvard University)
and Shaka McGlotten (Purchase College-SUNY).